top of page

Service Provider Research Project (Assignment #2)

1. Service Location: Breezy Nails & Spa, Inc.

Located at 84-32 164th St., Jamaica, NY 11432

2. Research question: What process does each nail technician at this location do to embrace satisfaction and customer reoccurrence? I am interested in knowing the steps and marketing strategies Breezy Nails & Spa, Inc. take to keep customers coming in and referring other people.

3. Methodology: The methodology I used to answer my question was a more hands on approach. I went to the location and conducted somewhat of an interview with my nail technician at the time, Stella. I was able to get a sense of their customer experience through my own observations, but as for other customers the best I could do was analyze worker- customer interaction of other nail technicians as I was in the works of getting my service fulfilled.

4. Observations: First I had to go online and find out information on how to make an appointment. This process was easy they clearly state to call and make an appointment. When I called the receptionist answered nicely and asked what I needed done. At the time I only needed an eyelash fill so that is what I requested and they set the next available date and even sent texts reminding me of my appointment.

As I went in for my appointment they were very friendly and ready for me to start. The process was done amazingly and faster then expected, so I thought to ask if I can also receive a manicure. Stella the technician said there was availability and courteously started my nails without appointment.

Brief Interview: Here are some of the questions I asked as I was getting worked on.

Me: This is a beautiful location how long have you been open?

Stella: Thank You. For about 3+ years now.

Me: Oh nice. I am a St. John's student and the location is perfect and your prices are affordable.

Stella: Yes, we try to keep the prices low, we also offer a St. John's discount of 15% off of anything you get done.

Me: Really? That is amazing. Is there any other deals you offer to other people outside of St. John's? Or is that your sole target? The St. John's students?

Stella: No actually, we offer an array of Groupon deals pertaining to our manicure services, waxing services, and first time services for customers.

5. Analyze data: For starters I enjoyed this salon, I would love to go back and even refer friends. This salon was very professional and handled appointments and timing very well. When it came to service design the company did okay on the website, there can be room for improvement. The website was outdated on some of their deals and offerings. For the inside layout that was great, the service spot was clean, it had the proper space and proper amount of workers offering service. Next, Service marketing, I would like Breezy Nails to be more open about their offerings and deals, like I previously mention the website was outdated and didn't even mention the St. Johns discount and Groupon deals, I didn't find out until I brought up school. Other than that I feel that the company does most of their marketing through word of mouth and satisfactory of the customers. Leading me into, customer behavior, I enjoyed how this nail spa is "appointment only" making the facility less crowded and more prompt, I feel that in the end this keeps customers happier because they aren't waiting for someone to finish. All the customer interactions seemed appropriate, no one got upset, and customers including me left happy.

6. Room for Improvements:

  • I would like to see Breezy Nail's with a more updated website, describing store offerings and deals. If these deals were openly stated they could possible receive greater business.

This salon should make more use of their social media, the pictures were outdated and didn't show all of the services offered. Since they are right next to a university with students, having an accessible and frequently updated pictures on social media could also benefit the company.


bottom of page